Taschen

Matisse: Cut-Outs — Gilles Néret, English

$20.00

Ships in 2 business days

Henri Matisse (1869–1954) was a fighting spirit. Despite a cancer diagnosis in 1941, increasing frailty, and the confines of a wheelchair, the indomitable Frenchman never stopped in his quest to produce art. With what he called "une seconde vie" (a second life), he embarked on a remarkable collage period, cutting and pasting pieces of coloured paper into gouaches cut-outs of birds, plants, flowers and the female form.

In this essential introductory book, we revisit this joyful final chapter of Matisse’s long and prodigious career, examining how the cut-outs encapsulated the artist’s many years exploring the possibilities of composition, form and colour.

Author: Gilles Néret
Publisher: Taschen
Number of pages: 96
Dimensions: 21 x 26 cm, hardcover
ISBN: 9783836534222 Learn More
  • TS534222
  • 96 PAGES
  • AUTHOR: GILLES NERET
  • PUBLISHER: TASCHEN
OR

Product Details

Henri Matisse (1869–1954) was a fighting spirit. Despite a cancer diagnosis in 1941, increasing frailty, and the confines of a wheelchair, the indomitable Frenchman never stopped in his quest to pro + Show More

Product Details

Henri Matisse (1869–1954) was a fighting spirit. Despite a cancer diagnosis in 1941, increasing frailty, and the confines of a wheelchair, the indomitable Frenchman never stopped in his quest to produce art. With what he called "une seconde vie" (a second life), he embarked on a remarkable collage period, cutting and pasting pieces of coloured paper into gouaches cut-outs of birds, plants, flowers and the female form. In this essential introductory book, we revisit this joyful final chapter of Matisse’s long and prodigious career, examining how the cut-outs encapsulated the artist’s many years exploring the possibilities of composition, form and colour. Author: Gilles Néret Publisher: Taschen Number of pages: 96 Dimensions: 21 x 26 cm, hardcover ISBN: 9783836534222 - Show Less
Top

Taschen

Matisse : Gouaches découpées — Gilles Néret, anglais

20,00 $

Expédié en 2 jours ouvrables

Henri Matisse (1869-1954) a toujours eu un esprit combatif. Malgré son cancer diagnostiqué en 1941, et en dépit de sa faiblesse croissante et de son fauteuil roulant qu’il ne pouvait quitter, cet irréductible artiste français n’a jamais interrompu sa quête artistique ni cessé de créer. Débutant ce qu’il nommait une « seconde vie », il entama une période remarquable de production de collages, découpant et assemblant des morceaux de papier coloré pour former des oiseaux, plantes, fleurs et formes féminines.

Cette introduction de référence revisite ainsi ce joyeux dernier chapitre de la longue et prodigieuse carrière de Matisse, révélant comment les papiers découpés résument ses années passées à explorer toutes les possibilités offertes par la composition, les formes et les couleurs.

Auteur : Gilles Néret
Éditeur : Taschen
Nombre de pages : 96
Dimensions : 21 x 26 cm, relié
ISBN : 9783836534222 En savoir plus
  • TS534222
  • 96 PAGES
  • AUTEUR: GILLES NERET
  • EDITEUR: TASCHEN

Description détaillée

Henri Matisse (1869-1954) a toujours eu un esprit combatif. Malgré son cancer diagnostiqué en 1941, et en dépit de sa faiblesse croissante et de son fauteuil roulant qu’il ne pouvait quitter, cet + Lire la suite

Description détaillée

Henri Matisse (1869-1954) a toujours eu un esprit combatif. Malgré son cancer diagnostiqué en 1941, et en dépit de sa faiblesse croissante et de son fauteuil roulant qu’il ne pouvait quitter, cet irréductible artiste français n’a jamais interrompu sa quête artistique ni cessé de créer. Débutant ce qu’il nommait une « seconde vie », il entama une période remarquable de production de collages, découpant et assemblant des morceaux de papier coloré pour former des oiseaux, plantes, fleurs et formes féminines. Cette introduction de référence revisite ainsi ce joyeux dernier chapitre de la longue et prodigieuse carrière de Matisse, révélant comment les papiers découpés résument ses années passées à explorer toutes les possibilités offertes par la composition, les formes et les couleurs. Auteur : Gilles Néret Éditeur : Taschen Nombre de pages : 96 Dimensions : 21 x 26 cm, relié ISBN : 9783836534222 - Cacher